Who, How, What, Where

FAQ regarding properties on Mallorca

The services of a qualified real estate agent will take a lot of work off your shoulders and ensure that the purchase process is handled smoothly. The procedures in Mallorca when buying a property are different from what you might know from the UK. A real estate agent saves you a lot of time and effort. He will find the right property for you and also has access to properties that are not offered on the Internet.

Of course you are free to contact several estate agents. However, here in Mallorca most of the real estate agents offer the same properties, as there is no agent exclusivity. It is important that you find a qualified estate agent you can trust. Even if you do not find your dream property on our website, we can help you find it thanks to our wide range of contacts.

Having a lawyer is not compulsory when buying a property in Mallorca. You are free to choose a lawyer. In preparing the signing of a purchase contract we as your real estate agents are making sure that there are no hidden flaws, such as missing building permits or illegal development. We will check all documents carefully and accompany you during the entire purchasing process and beyond. Should you still wish to consult a lawyer, we will be happy to assist you in your choice.

Mortgages are very popular in Spain as interest rates are low and mortgages can have tax advantages. As a foreigner you have the possibility to get up to 70% of the appraised value of a property for a mortgage. All costs of obtaining a mortgage must be paid by the bank at the time of the mortgage application.

The NIE number (Numero de Identificación de Extranjeros) is a multifunctional identification and tax number in Spain. It is only valid for foreigners and only foreigners can apply for it. The NIE number is required if you wish to buy property in Spain or if you are emigrating to Spain. You also need the NIE for contracts (opening a bank account, mobile phone contracts, etc.).

When signing an option contract, the seller is obliged not to sell the property to third parties for a certain period of time. As a rule, the buyer pays 10% of the purchase price for this option. The buyer can thus keep the option open to withdraw from the deal if necessary. Should the buyer withdraw, the seller usually insists on keeping the option premium paid.

A notarised deed must be made to ensure that the sale is registered in the land register. This notarial deed of sale is called escritura publica.
The notarial deed contains a description of the property, the purchase price and the payment terms. It also ensures that no debts (encumbrances) are taken over from the previous owner. The notary sends the deed to the property register by email or fax to ensure legal certainty. After payment of the land transfer tax, the new owner can be entered in the land register.

The commission (brokerage fee) is usually paid by the seller, the amount is 5% to 6% of the purchase price plus VAT. By arrangement or in exceptional cases, the commission can also be paid by the buyer.

As a buyer of property in Mallorca there are a number of costs that you will have to pay in addition to the price of the property. A rough estimate of these costs is around 10% - 12% of the purchase price. This amount is made up of taxes and costs for estate agent, lawyer, tax consultant, notary and the fees of the municipal offices.

When you buy a property, you have to pay value added tax (IVA) or land transfer tax (ITP).

VAT: When you buy a property for the first time, you pay VAT (IVA). If you buy a property with garage parking spaces, you have to pay 10% tax on the purchase price. If you buy a plot of land or a commercial property, the tax is 21%.

Real estate transfer tax: Real estate transfer tax (ITP) is payable on resale properties.
- the first € 400,000 of the purchase price is taxed at 8%.
- between € 400,000 and € 600,000 the real estate transfer tax is 9%.
- the amount between €600,000 and €1,000,000 is taxed at a rate of 10%.
- a purchase price over € 1,000,000 is taxed at 11%
The tax must be paid within 30 days of the transfer of ownership.

Property tax: Property tax (IBI- Impuesto sobre Bienes Inmuebles) is paid annually at the end of the year. Throughout Spain, it varies between 0.4% and 1.1% of the cadastral value of developed land, but the exact value depends on the municipality in charge. For undeveloped plots, you have to pay between 0.3% and 0.9%.
Income tax: If the property is used by the owner, even if only for holiday purposes, an income tax is paid (IRPF - Impuestos sobre la Renta de la Persona Física). The tax is 19% on 1.1% of the cadastral value.
Wealth tax: non-residents pay between 0.2% and 2.5% wealth tax. The wealth tax for residents in the Balearic Islands ranges from 0.28% to 3.45%.
Capital gains tax: A capital gains tax (plusvalia) must be paid on the sale. From the moment a property is sold, the municipalities tax the increase in value of the property.

Wer, Wie, Was, Wo

FAQ zu Immobilien Mallorca

Die Beratung eines professionellen Immobilienmaklers nimmt Ihnen viel Arbeit ab und sorgt für eine kompetente Abwicklung des Kaufprozesses. Die Vorgänge auf Mallorca bei einem Immobilienkauf sind anders als das, was Sie vielleicht aus Deutschland kennen. Ein Immobilienmakler spart Ihnen sehr viel Zeit und Mühe. Er findet die passende Immobilie für Sie und hat auch Zugang zu Objekten, die nicht im Internet angeboten werden.

Selbstverständlich steht es Ihnen frei, mehrere Makler zu kontaktieren. Hier auf Mallorca bieten jedoch die meisten Makler die gleichen Objekte an, da es keine Maklerexklusivität gibt. Wichtig ist es, dass Sie einen professionellen Makler finden, dem Sie vertrauen. Auch, wenn Sie ihr Traumobjekt nicht auf unserer Website finden, können wir Ihnen bei der Suche aufgrund unserer umfangreichen Kontakte kompetent zur Seite stehen.

Einen Rechtsanwalt zu haben ist keine Pflicht beim Immobilienkauf auf Mallorca. Es steht Ihnen frei, einen Anwalt zu nehmen. Wir als Immobilienmakler kümmern uns im Vorfeld des Abschlusses eines Kaufvertrages darum, dass es keine Mängel, wie z.B, fehlende Baugenehmigungen oder illegale Bebauung gibt. Wir überprüfen alle Unterlagen genau und begleiten Sie während des gesamten Kaufprozesses und auch danach. Sollten Sie dennoch einen Anwalt hinzu ziehen wollen, werden wir Ihnen bei der Wahl gern behilflich sein.

In Spanien sind Hypotheken sehr gefragt, da die Zinsen niedrig sind und Hypotheken steuerliche Vorteile haben können. Als Ausländer haben Sie die Möglichkeit bis zu 70% des Schätzwertes einer Liegenschaft finanziert zu bekommen. Alle Kosten der Hypothekenbestellung müssen aktuell von der Bank bezahlt werden.

Die NIE Nummer (Numero de Identificación de Extranjeros) ist eine multifunktionale Identifikations- und Steuernummer in Spanien. Diese gilt nur für Ausländer und auch nur Ausländer können diese beantragen. Die NIE Nummer wird benötigt, wenn Sie in Spanien Eigentum kaufen möchten oder nach Spanien auswandern. Auch für Verträge (Kontoeröffnungen, Handyverträge etc.) benötigen Sie die NIE.

Bei Abschluss eines Optionsvertrages verpflichtet sich der Verkäufer, die Immobilie für einen bestimmten Zeitraum nicht an Dritte zu verkaufen. In der Regel zahlt der Käufer 10% des Kaufpreises für diese Option. Der Käufer kann sich so die Möglichkeit offenhalten, ggf. aus dem Geschäft auszusteigen. Sollte der Käufer zurücktreten, besteht der Verkäufer in der Regel auf den Behalt der gezahlten Optionsprämie.

Eine notarielle Beurkundung muss stattfinden, um eine Eintragung ins Grundbuch zu gewährleisten. Dieser notarielle Kaufvertrag wird escritura publica genannt.

Die Notarurkunde erhält eine Beschreibung der Immobilie, den Kaufpreis und die Zahlungsmodalitäten. Ebenfalls wird dadurch sichergestellt, dass man keine Schulden (Belastungen) vom Vorbesitzer übernimmt. Der Notar sendet dem Eigentumsregister die Beurkundung per Email oder Fax um Rechtssicherheit zu gewährleisten. Nach Zahlung der Grunderwerbssteuer kann der neue Eigentümer in das Grundbuch eingetragen werden.

Die Provision (Courtage) wird in der Regel vom Verkäufer bezahlt, die Höhe beträgt 5% bis 6% des Kaufpreises zzgl. Mehrwertsteuer. Nach Absprache oder in Ausnahmefällen kann die Provision auch vom Käufer bezahlt werden.

Als Käufer von Immobilien auf Mallorca gibt es eine Reihe von Kosten, die Sie zusätzlich zum Immobilienpreis zahlen müssen. Grob geschätzt liegen diese Erwerbsnebenkosten insgesamt bei etwa 10% - 12% des Kaufpreises. Dieser Betrag setzt sich zusammen aus Steuern und Kosten für Immobilienmakler, Anwalt, Steuerberater, Notar sowie den Gebühren der Ämter.

Wenn Sie eine Immobilie erwerben, müssen Sie Mehrwertsteuer (IVA) oder Grunderwerbsteuer (ITP) entrichten.

Mehrwertsteuer: Bei einem erstmaligen Kauf einer Immobilie wird die Mehrwertsteuer (IVA) entrichtet. Bei einer Immobilie mit Garagenstellplätzen müssen Sie vom Kaufpreis 10% versteuern. Bei einem Kauf von einem Grundstück oder Gewerbeimmobilien belaufen sich die Steuern auf 21%.

Grunderwerbssteuer: Bei Wiederverkaufsimmobilien fällt Grunderwerbsteuer (ITP) an.
- die ersten 400.000 € vom Kaufpreis werden mit 8 % versteuert
- zwischen 400.000 € und 600.000 € beträgt die Grunderwerbsteuer 9 %
- der Betrag zwischen 600.000 € und 1.000.000 € wird mit einem Steuersatz von 10 % besteuert
- ein Kaufpreis über 1.000.000 € wird mit 11 % besteuert

Die Steuer ist innerhalb von 30 Tagen nach Eigentumsübertragung zu zahlen.

Grundsteuer: Die Grundsteuer (IBI- Impuesto sobre Bienes Inmuebles) wird jährlich zum Jahresende entrichtet. Diese liegt spanienweit zwischen 0,4% und 1,1% des Katasterwertes bei erschlossenen Grundstücken, der genaue Wert ist jedoch abhängig von der zuständigen Gemeinde. Bei unerschlossenen Grundstücken zahlt man zwischen 0,3% und 0,9%.

Einkommenssteuer: Wenn die Immobilie selbst genutzt wird, auch nur zu Ferienzwecken, zahlt man eine Einkommenssteuer (IRPF – Impuestos sobre la Renta de la Persona Física). Die Steuer beträgt 19% auf 1,1% des Katasterwertes.

Vermögenssteuer: Nichtresidenten zahlen zwischen 0,2% und 2,5% Vermögensteuer. Die Vermögenssteuer für Residenten auf den Balearen liegen bei 0,28% bis 3,45%.

Wertzuwachssteuer: Beim Verkauf muss eine Wertzuwachssteuer (Plusvalia) gezahlt werden. Ab dem Zeitpunkt des Verkaufs eines Objektes, besteuern die Gemeinden den Wertzuwachs eines Grundstücks.